IM8 Proficiency Development Programme - Role-based Pathways: Engineering & Operations

Programme Code D187
Applications Management
ICT Governance
Learning Partner(s)
2.1 Days
Format E-learning
ICT&SS Domain Knowledge ICT&SS Policy ICT Governance
Job Roles
Systems Engineer Software Engineer Cloud Infrastructure Engineer ICT&SS Professional Digital Business Analyst Data Engineer


This course delivered by GovTech.

This course consists of 5 role-based pathways
1) ICT & SS management
2) Third Party Management
3) Architecture & Security
4) Engineering & Operations
5) ICT Audit

Each pathway comprises of curated modules to equip learners with knowledge and proficiency across specific policy domains. This supplements ICT technical competency programmes that equip Public Officers in their roles.

This course focuses on the Engineering and Operations pathway. Engineering and operations remain the key driving force behind the deployment and running of digital services within the Government ICT infrastructure. The Engineering and Operations pathway is aimed at equipping ICT engineers/analysts involved in running the Government’s ICT operations with the knowledge and proficiency to develop, deploy and operate ICT applications and networks.  The in-depth modules in this pathway covering Incident Management, Security, Data, Cloud, Resilience, and Digital Services.

Key Takeaways

  • Understand the overall governance requirement for the implementation of applications and networks related to both ICT&SS infrastructure and services
  • Demonstrate understanding and know-how to implement the cybersecurity requirements of the process, operational controls and technology solutions in mitigating against prevalent cyber threats
  • Understand commercial cloud infrastructure risk, defined security requirements and, know-how to ensure infra/apps are built and maintained securely on commercial cloud
  • Understand system criticality and the impact of data breaches to implement proper controls to access, use of Government data, and to restore systems to an acceptable service level in the event of a service disruption

Who Should Attend

Please refer to the job roles section. 


You must complete the IM8 Fundamentals programme

Programme Structure

Modules & Applicability
•    Incident Management
•    Security (App Dev)
•    Security (App Arch)
•    Security (App Infra)
•    Data
•    Cloud
•    Resilience
•    Digital Services



How To Register

Learners are required to register via the LEARN Portal

Step-by-step guide
Login to LEARN Portal
  1. If using laptop:
    • Type module title, e.g. IM8, in the search bar.
    • Click on title.
    • Click on ‘Start Learning’ to proceed.
  2. If using mobile:
    • Tap on the “Discover” tab.
    • Type module title, e.g. IM8, in the search bar.
    • Tap on title.
    • Tap on ‘Start Learning’ to proceed.

Note that the process for accessing CSC LEARN modules is generic.